Skip to content

Nothing says lovin’ like Toblerone Brownies in the oven!

2012/02/27

Gluten-free Toblerone Brownies

For me, the best cures for cold winters are chocolate comfort foods. When I was a kid growing up in Germany, some of my favorite comfort snacks were Nutella on brötchen (crusty bread rolls), Bahlsen Hit cookies and Toblerone chocolate bars.

If you’ve never had Toblerone, it’s a triangular Swiss milk chocolate bar with a layer of crunchy honey and almond nougat pieces on the bottom. I like to think of it as little pyramids of heaven!

Unfortunately, my big kid stomach can no longer tolerate the gluten in bread and cookies so I have found myself in the kitchen experimenting, while waiting out the winter blues. I figured I’d play around with Toblerone, since it’s the one favorite that I can still enjoy.

I’ll admit, there have been some baking disasters, to say the least. Baking as a rule is usually too exacting for my taste, as I tend to be a stranger to measuring cups and oven timers.

But lately, I have prevailed and I thought I would share my new favorite comfort recipe:
Gluten-Free Toblerone Chocolate Brownies.

Here’s the recipe…

3.4-ounces Toblerone chocolate (about 2-1.7oz bars)
1/2-cup buttermilk (room temperature)
1/4-cup sweetened applesauce (room temperature)
2 eggs
1-tablespoon vanilla

1-cup light brown sugar
1/2-cup cocoa powder
1/4-cup gluten -free baking flour
1/2-teaspoon salt
1/4-teaspoon baking soda

Preheat the oven to 350ºF. Line a 8×8-inch baking pan with foil and lightly oil the sides and bottom.

In a mixing bowl, break up about 1 & 3/4 of the Toblerone triangles over a hot water bath and stir gently. Or melt them slowly in a microwave, stopping every 15-30 seconds to stir. The mixture will remain slightly chunky from the nougat pieces.

Stir in room temperature applesauce. If the chocolate starts to seize or the mixture becomes chalky, put it back on the water bath or in the microwave for a few seconds and continue stirring until smooth. Slowly add buttermilk, beaten eggs and vanilla to mixture and stir until blended.

last one

In a separate mixing bowl add dry ingredients and blend together. Finally, add the wet mixture and whisk until the batter begins to come together. If the batter seems too thin, add a tablespoon of applesauce and stir.

Bake in the center of your preheated oven for 30 to 35 minutes or until the brownies are set.

Put the remaining chocolate in a plastic baggy and crush with a large wooden spoon to make chunky pieces for the topping.

Turn off the oven and remove.

Add remaining crushed chocolate and either tent with foil until slightly melted or put in the still warm oven for 2-3 minutes.

Allow brownies to cool. Sprinkle with confectioner sugar (optional).

Hope you enjoy my new favorite treat. Try not to eat them all in one sitting, like I did.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 2012/02/27 1:54 am

    It’s great you’ve conquered baking and were able to come up with these delicious looking brownies. 🙂

  2. 2012/02/27 4:56 am

    My dad would absolutely adore these – what a cool idea. Congrats on the baking success 😀

  3. 2012/02/27 5:03 am

    YUM! I remember Toblerone and brotchen from my days of living in Germany, too! I will have to try out this recipe when I go back home! Thanks for sharing! Looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

xx will travel

A podcast for independent women travelers

Eileen Tull

Performer, Writer, and Theatre Creator

The Shooting Star

Just a girl who travels.

thesolesearch

Searching for my soul via my soles...

A Dangerous Business Travel Blog

A small-town Ohio girl trying to see the world.

PhilaTravelGirl

Flying By the Seat of My Points

Single Woman Travels!

Spirituality + Travel = Alchemy of Self

IAMSHEGLOBAL

An exploration of art, culture and fashion through travel around the globe.

Afros y Paella

travel the world // write from the heart

the RARE belle

a southern gal's guide to all things fabulous in food, fashion, finery and frippery

Frankly English

A great WordPress.com site

France in D.C.

Bringing France to my home and to yours.

24/7 in FRANCE

Following A Dream

dailyfrancofile

a little bit of France each day

Chronicles of a Travel Addict

Solo, budget, ethical travel with a literary twist

