Skip to content

Winning Wine Wednesday

2012/05/02

I don’t know about you, but I love trying new wines; wines from France, Spain, Germany or where ever. What I love even more is testing great international wines at home with friends… or even alone.

Some of my favorite places to score great wines on the cheap are World Market, Trader Joe’s and believe it or not, Whole Foods (which is usually dubbed by a good friend “whole paycheck”). The wines at Whole Foods are surprisingly reasonably priced.

Today, I thought I’d share with you one of my all-time favorite french wines: Baron d’Arignac VIN DE PAYS DU GERS 2010 Moelleux.

** vin de pays = country wine **
** moelleux = sweet **

Made in Landiras, France it’s a medium-bodied wine considered to be a step or so above a white table wine.

TroisGros2 at snooth says:
“Very easy summer drinker. The perfect Aperitif, or thirst quencher on a hot, humid day. I am not sure of the blend, but it has a mild sweetness followed a fruity finish. Apricot, melon, tangerine, mineral, peach, and a touch of honey. Excellent for $6.99 at Whole Foods!”

I pretty much agree, except for the summer part.

I love drinking this wine year around. It’s fruity, but not super sweet like a moscato. It’s perfect for snacking, which I do a lot. I like to drink it when I don’t feel like cooking and I’ve got a table full of little noshes strewn about, like veggies and dip, cucumber salad, sliced apples and parm, marinated olives and such.

My favorite nosh to pair with it: Saint-andré triple creme french cow’s milk cheese on crackers or baguette.

Traditionally crafted in northwestern France, this cheese is made from both raw and pasteurized milk. It has a soft delicious buttery texture and taste with a powdery edible white rind. Extra heavy cream is added to the cheese during manufacturing and the curing process takes about 30 days.

It’s said that the fat content of Saint-andré is so high that it can make a white wine taste sour, which is probably why it goes so well with the sweet Baron d’Arignac Moelleux. When I purchased this cheese at Whole Foods it was priced at $13.99 lb and came in about 1/2 lb slices.

A good tip if you’re not ready to make that kind of commitment is to ask the fromager or cheese guy/gal to half it for you. They always comply with a smile.

Happy Drinking!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

xx will travel

A podcast for independent women travelers

Eileen Tull

Performer, Writer, and Theatre Creator

The Shooting Star

Just a girl who travels.

thesolesearch

Searching for my soul via my soles...

A Dangerous Business Travel Blog

A small-town Ohio girl trying to see the world.

PhilaTravelGirl

Flying By the Seat of My Points

Single Woman Travels!

Spirituality + Travel = Alchemy of Self

IAMSHEGLOBAL

An exploration of art, culture and fashion through travel around the globe.

Afros y Paella

travel the world // write from the heart

the RARE belle

a southern gal's guide to all things fabulous in food, fashion, finery and frippery

Frankly English

A great WordPress.com site

France in D.C.

Bringing France to my home and to yours.

24/7 in FRANCE

Following A Dream

dailyfrancofile

a little bit of France each day

Chronicles of a Travel Addict

Solo, budget, ethical travel with a literary twist

