Skip to content

The Truth About Being Robbed Blind: It Sucks

2014/01/23
Image courtesy of David Castillo Dominici / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of David Castillo Dominici / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

So, unless you are outside of the U.S., I am sure that you have heard of the Target Data Breach by now. In case you haven’t, between  November 24th  and December 15th as many as 70 million Target store shoppers had their credit, debit and personal information stolen by a ring of thieves using software uploaded to the merchant’s server.  If you are like me, have shopped at Target or one of its affiliates and haven’t changed your credit or debit cards, you are probably using one or more of these excuses:

  • Target has taken care of the problem by now.
  • It’s probably not affecting that many people and it probably won’t affect me.
  • They won’t steal my information because I have terrible credit, or so little money, or …(insert rationalization here).
  • I’ll know if they use my card before any real damage is done.

I used all of these excuses for not changing my VISA debit card, even though I used my card at Target during that timeframe. I really believed these excuse, too. Maybe you happen to be psychic, but unfortunately I am not, and three days ago it happened. While I was asleep in my bed in Chicago, thieves used fraudulent cards bearing my bank information at a string of stores in Texas. Before I could swipe my legitimate card to pay for my morning latte, all of my hard earned money was gone. They even managed to leave me with a negative balance of a hundred bucks, which is saying something, because I don’t even have the ability to overdraft that account.

Image courtesy of africa / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of africa / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

These thieves really know what they are doing and what they are doing is causing a whole lot of heartache and pain. I have had to spend two days, emailing, calling and writing letters to try to clear up what they were able to pull off in just a couple of hours. I am hoping to get my money back, but who knows how long that will take.

For those of you who are financially uber savvy, I know you will be tempted to comment on how stupid I was to not cancel my cards, believe me, you are preaching to the choir. But honestly this post is not for the financially uber savvy, this post is for people like me and you know who you are. I know that you are hyper vigilant about your personal and financial information when you are traveling, it’s time to be vigilant now. Yes, it is possible that they don’t have or won’t use your information. Yes, changing your autopay information on all your accounts is a pain. But that’s what the thieves are counting on, the fact that you won’t cancel your cards for whatever reason. And they are laughing all the way to the bank, or to the border, or wherever they are. Take my word for it.

The is scope of the situation is still developing. You can read more about it below:

http://www.washingtonpost.com/business/economy/target-breach-what-you-need-to-know/2014/01/10/669a5c9c-7a10-11e3-8963-b4b654bcc9b2_story.html

http://www.cnn.com/2014/01/20/us/money-target-breach/index.html

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/01/20/target-credit-card-fraud_n_4634303.html

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 2014/01/23 12:50 pm

    oh lovely, Target huh? they recently opened a ton of branches here in Canada too, just what Canadian consumers alike want happening 😦

  2. 2014/01/23 12:50 pm

    Reblogged this on The Wandering Poet.

  3. 2014/01/23 1:39 pm

    OMG, I’m so sorry you are dealing with this. Thank you for sharing this info, and may everything be straightened out soon for you.

  4. 2014/01/23 5:19 pm

    That really sucks. Any update? Were you able to get refunds? 😦

  5. 2014/01/24 6:17 am

    Reblogged this on Dance with the Rain and commented:
    Well, that Target Data Breach issue was one of the things that we encountered when I was still working. I will never forget that day when almost all of us never stopped taking calls for almost 8 hours and helping our customers resolve their issues about that. I cannot say that I know how it felt since it’s my information that was stolen but I have an idea how it affected out customers.

  6. 2014/01/24 6:58 am

    oops sorry I didn’t know that you were working at target and then my comment so sorry 😦

  7. 2014/01/24 4:03 pm

    Thanks for your sympathies. I was kind of a mess over it, especially for the first couple of days. I just hope that no one else has to go through what I went through.

  8. 2014/01/24 4:19 pm

    I don’t blame you for being a mess, Ramona. I would be too. I shop at Target all the time. I didn’t see any transactions made with cards during that time, so I’m thinking I used cash (I use cash about 50% of the time). But, because of your post, I called my bank and asked for a new atm card just in case. Thank you for sharing your story. I do hope things work out for you, and very soon.

  9. 2014/01/24 4:30 pm

    No funds yet. Everyday that I get a text message that you reads, “Good Morning, your account balance is $0.00”, I feel kinda sick to my stomach. But I refuse to put any more cash into that account until I know for sure that the fraud issue is resolved.

  10. 2014/02/02 12:38 am

    Hoping for the best…

Leave a Reply

xx will travel

A podcast for independent women travelers

Eileen Tull

Performer, Writer, and Theatre Creator

The Shooting Star

Just a girl who travels.

thesolesearch

Searching for my soul via my soles...

A Dangerous Business Travel Blog

A small-town Ohio girl trying to see the world.

PhilaTravelGirl

Flying By the Seat of My Points

Single Woman Travels!

Spirituality + Travel = Alchemy of Self

IAMSHEGLOBAL

An exploration of art, culture and fashion through travel around the globe.

Afros y Paella

travel the world // write from the heart

the RARE belle

a southern gal's guide to all things fabulous in food, fashion, finery and frippery

Frankly English

A great WordPress.com site

France in D.C.

Bringing France to my home and to yours.

24/7 in FRANCE

Following A Dream

dailyfrancofile

a little bit of France each day

Chronicles of a Travel Addict

Solo, budget, ethical travel with a literary twist

